Veg plot

Today we were gifted with a beautiful sunny, breezy day, despite the weather forecast telling me it would rain all weekend. I therefore decided to spend most of the day in the garden since more digging was needed – my favourite job!

See below for before and after pictures. I should have taken the ‘after’ picture before spreading the comfrey leaves on as it doesn’t look very finished now! I will dig the comfrey in a little next time I get out there but right now I want to sit down and rest my aching bones!

Before
Before
DSCF0871
After

Once the bush, rose and miscellanous self-set tree had been removed I created a tool for use as a hoe…

It's amazing what duct tape can do
It’s amazing what duct tape can do
Handle fashioned from a bit of an old fence panel
Handle fashioned from a bit of an old fence panel

…and finished it off with some edging to help suppress weeds and to help designate the area for veg:

DSCF0873
Guess what I made the edging out of!

I then spent several minutes trying to get a decent shot of a red kite…easier said than done!

Count the kites!
Count the kites!
Love the downbeat on this one
Love the downbeat on this one
Just love that manoeuving ability!
Just love that manoeuving ability!
More agility
More agility

DSCF0905

I have that happy knackered feeling now. Only one job left to do today: clean out the hamsters! Then I can settle down to a film while doing some cross stitch 🙂

I couldn't let you go without a picture of the wter butts now could I?!
I couldn’t let you go without a picture of the water butts now could I?!
Leave a Reply

